Follow through.

In an earlier post I mentioned that I wanted to pick my hobbies back up in 2015.  Not only have I been posting to this blog every day, yesterday I actually posted twice, I bought my self a new computer.  Last month my boss was kind enough to give everyone at work a Christmas bonus.  I work for a small company and for the time being, he has the capability of doing something that generous.  I also collected a little more money during the Christmas festivities that I was able to purchase a brand new laptop.  I haven’t had a laptop in a few years, and when I first started the blog, I was posting at work during my lunches.  I know that I won’t always have the opportunity to do a post every day during my lunch so I decided that I would go ahead and get my self a computer.  One of the other hobbies that I mentioned I wanted to pick back up was my photography.  And I need to be able to edit the photos I took, so I figured a new computer would come in handy for that as well.

So of course I have been feeling good today, got my brand new laptop that I get to play around with and I decide, I should buy Photoshop Lightroom to get my self all prepared for when I start taking photos.  Not only was it almost impossible to find, I actually had to google the stand alone version, since adobe wants you to subscribe to their cloud service now, and I would just prefer to have a stand alone copy of Lightroom and noy pay a monthly fee to their cloud server.  Finally after I found it I realize that the full version is 150.00.  This whole time I thought it was only 80, but I had been looking at the upgrade version.  I have never had anything other than trials of Lightroom.  So now I’m kind of bummed that it is so expensive and I’m not sure if I can afford it right now.  I mean, I can afford it, but do I want the money to go to that at this moment.?

So as I’m sitting here contemplating purchasing a photo editor that is really awesome, to continue on with my hobbies for this year, I decided to get my post in for the day.

I’m wondering if I should start writing my book again.  I just don’t think my creativity is up to that challenge yet.  There is nothing more frustrating than sitting in front of a blank word screen on your computer and not knowing what to type.  What do you guys do to help inspire creativity?

On a completely different note, today is the start of my “birthweek”, something everyone in my family celebrates, the week of your birthday.  It’s really nice, instead of getting just one day, you get the whole week.  Which is nice since my birthday falls on a weekday and I’ll be working this year on my birthday.  Last year I took the whole week off because Elizabeth came into town to celebrate with me.  No vacation this year for my birthday, so we are going out to dinner tonight and my husband is doing laundry for me.  Or at least he was until he started watching football.  I’m sure there is a dry load of laundry just sitting in the dryer at the moment.

Does anyone else celebrate your whole birthweek?  And what are some things you like to do on your birthday?

Maybe I can convince myself to buy Lightroom for my birthday.  I have a little extra cash left over from Christmas that I can put towards it.  I’ll let you know what happens.

2 thoughts on “Follow through.

  1. I’m also struggling with creativity. I tend to start things, especially writing, then give up after a few sentences. I don’t really have any fail safe tips on how to get inspired, it quite often hits me out of the blue, like if something happens to me and it gives me an idea for a story. then I try and drop everything and focus on whatever I’m creating, even if it’s late at night.
    Sometimes going back to things that I really love helps, like reading a favourite book, watching a favourite film or listening to music, or doing the opposite and finding something new to be inspired by. Also going some place where there are no distractions, like taking a walk. Then I can let my mind wander and not focus on anything really, and then if something pops up in my head it’s not forced.
    Happy birthweek, I hope you have a nice time.

    Like

    1. Thanks love! My creativity normally comes out the the blue also, or dreams. I have very vivid, creative dreams that I tend to remember well, I have a journal by my bed for when I wake up so I can write the dream down right away so I don’t forget. But as of the last few weeks, I haven’t remember my dreams. I don’t know if it’s because I have been sleeping well. I normally have pretty bad insomnia and when I do fall asleep it’s only for a few hours, and that’s when I remember my dreams, but the last few weeks I have actually been sleeping through the night, so I’m not waking up much in the middle of the night. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment