Birthday Blues.

I’m sorry I haven’t written in a while.  I have wanted to, but my god, can life get in the way.

Wednesday was my birthday.  The day was pretty normal, I got up and went to work.  People wished me happy birthday, and my boss was kind enough to buy me lunch.  The work day was fine, busy but fine.  I got home and my mom made me exactly what I wanted for dinner. (My husband and I are living with my parents for the time being, we are in the process of saving up and buying a house this year.) After dinner I have a few birthday presents to open up, from my parents and my husband.  My little brother was home, but he gave me my birthday present on Christmas, this happens a lot which my birthday being so close to Christmas.  I used to mind it, I don’t anymore.  After I opened presents my brother ran out for a few minutes.  I went through my gifts and said thank you for everyone.  My brother came back about 15 minutes later, and my dad stared to get my cake ready.  My brother an up stairs really quick then came back down asking if anyone had seen his cat, and mentioned that the cat and peed under his computer desk.  Which was odd because normally when the cat got upset about something, he would pee on my brothers bed.  I went up stairs to help him look for the cat.  There is a large TV cabinet in the loft up stairs, that the cat likes to hide behind.  When I opened up the bottom doors, I found the cat dead.  I had to tell my brother that I didn’t think his cat was alive.  He pulled his cat out and started to cry.  It was incredibly sad.  The cat was 20 years old, we got him and his sister at the same time with they were just little kittens.  My brother was 4 and I was 6.  We had to put my cat down a little over a year ago.  She had broken a tooth that got really infected and she was just too old to fight the infection.  My mom took care of taking her to the vet for me, because I just couldn’t.  Now my brothers cat dies, on my birthday.  I was so sad for my brother, I’m pretty sure he doesn’t have very many memories of life, without that cat.  And it was my first time ever seeing a dead family pet before.  The cat was perfectly fine when my brother left 20 minutes earlier to go out.  I’m really sad that he is gone.

What I’m also sad about, and this wasn’t my first thought, is that my birthday is cursed.  It’s just a bad day.  Nothing good every happens to me on my birthday.  I was sexually molested on my 12th birthday.  My mother forgot about my 16th birthday.  I was forced to go to a school dance on my 18th birthday, (A class I was in planned this winter formal in high school, and anyone in the class who didn’t go was going to get an F).  On my 21st birthday I found out that the guy I had been dating was cheating on me for over a year.  My birthday party has been blown off more times than I can count by numerous friends.  Now on my 27th, I find my brothers cat dead.  I’m one of those people that believes your birthday party should be a fun day.  I think from now on I’m going to travel somewhere warm for my birthday.  Being in the Midwest, and having my birthday so close to Christmas, people have always said that my Christmas present was also my birthday present.  And it’s always so cold on my birthday, last year we had record breaking lows on my birthday, this year was also hard to handle.  No one wants to do anything when it’s that cold, they don’t want to leave their warm house to hang out with someone on their birthday.  Damn my January Birthday!

309663_2250784402649_382443921_n

Simba

The top photo is Nala, my kitty: 1995-2013

The bottom photo is Simba, my brothers kitty 1995-2015

Rest in piece sweet kitties, I hope Nala was there to greet Simba when he past away.  I hope they are some place where they are young again.  They can play around with all of the other lost pets and that are missed every day.

Leave a comment